Has anyone seen the VP

Where was the Vice President, Monday night? The School Board called a Special Meeting Monday night to discuss the budget for 2012-2013 and most important select the District’s Superintendent. The new leader of our kids educational future was selected and announced after the Executive Session. But the Vice President was nowhere to be found. Was there a disagreement over the superintendent choice or was there a rodeo? There was a number of community members that was concerned that Mr. Chambers was absent Sat, when Taking on the School Board blogged that he was at a rodeo. Maybe the Vice President had informed the remaining board members weeks in advance that she had a conflict; like Mr. Chambers did. Question, do you believe that leaving a piece of the story out; an important fact, is a lie of omission? Many do, is the statement true; yes, but the teller has colored the statement by leaving some important facts out. A number of folks I have spoken to while discussing the Recall, responded on this subject, “well that’s politics”. But why? Example: Mr. Chef was absent due to a prior commitment or Mr Chef was absent because he was at a rodeo. So my understanding is that the Board selected Dr. Patrick Cullen, current superintendent at Hugo, Co. The Community welcomes the Cullen family to the neighborhood. We now have a new School Leader, so lets all get behind him and move forward, remember Kids First. The 3Cs met yesterday afternoon to discuss events and the recall status. The recall effort is well on the final steps, if you know of an area or person that haven’t had the opportunity to sign the petition; let me know.  We are planning to invite Mr. Cullen to a meeting so we can discuss our issues.  We want him to know why and there are others.

Flash:  The VP has been found she wasn’t feeling well.  But states she will vote NO on the choice of Superintendent.  There needs to be a tally of the number of times Mrs Clemons has voted against the others Board members.

Fayne

Integrity in Leadership

  1. #1 by seriously? on June 13, 2012 - 10:16 pm

    Was Mr.Chambers involved in any part of the interview process?

  2. #2 by Fayne on June 14, 2012 - 1:01 pm

    Response to Seriously 2012/06/13 at 10:16 pm

    Lets define the steps of the interview process:
    1. Review the applications/resumes
    2. Dinner with the candidates and spouses
    3. Community interview/questioning
    4. Interview with school board
    5. School Board Executive Session
    Item 3 did not include the School Board members.
    Mr Chambers was present for 1,2,5. He was not present for 4 due to a commitment scheduled prior to the board deciding on the interview date. A commitment that he was responsible for, supporting many kids.
    Fayne
    Integrity in Leadership

  3. #3 by seriously? on June 14, 2012 - 8:09 pm

    I am submitting these comments to both the Potluck Cafe and the Taking on the School Board sites as I feel they apply to recent posts appearing in both blogs.

    I wish to preface my comments by acknowledging that I am straying from my personal policy of not naming individuals. I will be respectful of all and do my best to stay on point.

    First, I would like to address Mr. Chambers and his decision to not attend the Superintendant interviews. I understand he had a prior committment and was unable to attend. I would like to remind Mr. Chambers that he had a prior committment to the members of this Community to represent our interests in the matters of the District; he failed to honor that committment. I understand that his prior committment was long standing; in my mind, Mr. Chambers should have had the time, then, to delegate his Rodeo duties to others and attend the Superintendant interviews. I am sure that within his organization, given that they sponsor many events, there are many people capable of stepping in for Mr.Chambers for this one event. I know that Mr.Chambers, being an elected official, was not able to delegate his Board duties. I wish Mr.Chambers had chosen to honor his committment to the community by participating fully in what has been referred to as “an important time in our Disctrict’s future”.

    Second, I would like to address Mrs.Clemons and her stating that she “left early” Monday night for several reasons. I understand that she wasn’t feeling well. I don’t begrudge anyone for leaving because they are under the weather; I hope she is feeling better. I want to address the fact that she stated she “did not agree with the direction the board was taking” as another reason for why she left. I take issue with that. I would like to remind Mrs.Clemons that she was elected to represent our interests, not leave a meeting when things are not going her way. I see that Mrs.Clemons has pledged that she will vote how she believes is right; I encourage all to do that. I do not encourage someone to leave and say to consider her vote a “no vote”. I wish Mrs.Clemons had stayed and represented the Community with her best effort.

    Finally, I would like to address Fayne and his comparison of one Board member not attending vs. one Board member leaving early. These are two very different things. Fayne, on your own blog, you stated that this was a very important time for our District; how can you not see that Mr.Chambers sitting out of the interviews for a “prior committment” is a failure in his committment to this community? If it were Mr.Hudson or Mrs.Clemons that sat out for a “prior committment”, you would be singing a different tune; as you are now by pointing out that Mrs.Clemons left early. I understand that you “know” Mr.Chambers, but that does not excuse the facts in this particular situation.

    Finally, I would like to address the voting records of the Board members and the “tally of one versus all” that was called for by Fayne. I hope that all Board members are voting their conscience. I know that I have not always agreed with decisions that have been reached, but I sincerely hope that each member voted the way they felt was in the best interests of the Community. I believe that if we do not agree with the direction the Board is going, we should exercise our constitutional rights and elect new members. I believe that expecting all the members to vote a certain way is NOT democracy in action; all issues should be debated fairly and voted on with each member voting their conscience.

    I would like to say that I appreciate the effort of all the Board members in their service to the Community. I also thank Fayne and Mrs.Clemons for their time and effort to inform the Community.

    Thank you again for the opportunity to comment…

    Fayne, I apologize for addressing you as first name only, but I didn’t know if I should address you as Mr. or by your retired rank, which i don’t know.

Leave a Reply

